

# AUSTRALIAN INSTITUTE OF INTERPRETERS AND TRANSLATORS INC.

# MINUTES OF 34th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Via teleconference (Zoom)

Date: Saturday 27 November 2021

Time: 11:30 am - 12:20pm Venue: Teleconference (Zoom)

#### Attendance

- 106 persons in total attended, of whom all were members with voting rights (Senior Practitioner, Ordinary Member, Retired Member, and Student categories).
- 106 members of the 1898 eligible to vote attended the NAGM.
- Of the members entitled to vote, 10 were from QLD, 43 from NSW, 5 from ACT, 21 from VIC, 4 from TAS, 12 from SA/NT, 10 from WA and 1 from Overseas. The requirement for representation from at least three branches was therefore met.

#### Present

With voting rights Despina Amanatidou, Atilla Babaali, Marta Berany, Bashir Besalamah, Véronique Bergeron, Annick Bouchet, Anita Byrnes, Ana Barciela, Cátia Cassiano, Shung Lai Chiu, Anne Marie Chlala, Vesna Cvjeticanin, Jaromir Dalecky, Lien Dao, Juleri De Florio, David Deck, Meri Dragicevic, Michelle Anne Dreyfus, Adnan El Jamil, Liliana Evans, Shirley Fei, Christy Filipich, Silke Gebauer, Susan Gendy, Adolfo Gentile, Marion Gevers, Erika Gonzalez, Els Marjon Groenewegen, Lynn Hahn, Sandra Hale, Thomas Harding, Tamara Hocking, Fred Hong, Yan Hong, Ching-Yi Huang, Serena Huh, Helene Jaccomard, Vida Jafari Ark, Tilak Neomal Jinadasa, Deborah Kalei, Eva Kam, Mohammed Khan, Saeed Khosravi, Jeane Susianti Kongras, Yeo Woon Koo, Gabriela Kuzio, Chen-Hui Lai, Trung Khanh Lam, Camille Lapierre, Cintia Lee, Wutti Leenam, Haiwen Lewis, Huong Ling, Chun-Yin Liu, Shan Ma, Silvia Martinez, Michele Miller, Danny Ho Hiep Nguyen, Linh Nguyen, Thuan My Nicholls, Catherine Nicholson Pfammatter, Caroline Norma, Hatice Ozcan, Rebeca Paredes Nieto, Emanuela Pasini, Ozden Petale, Boris Petrusev, Mayssa Powel, Junelee Pradhan-Cook, Shuyi Qi, Huirong Qian, Marita Quaglio, Aurora Quinn, Tek Bahadur Rai, Arudkumar Raj, Margareta Rebelos, Mena Ristevski, Sofia Robrero Moran, Emira Rojevic, Frashid Salehi, Eva Semaan, Mohammad Reza Shariflou, Maheshwar Sharma, Jun Hua Shi, Carlos Sogari, Veronica Sandra Spagna Gil, Katarina Steiner, Mary Street, Stella Tang, Karen Thomas, Quan Hien To, Van Tran, Rosalie Uwimana, Nada Validzic, Joe Van Dalen, Xiaoxing (Amy) Wang, Wan Kei (Vicky) Wong, Han Xu, John Chongsheng Yang, Shiyi (Sydney) Ye, Xiao Yee, Peter Zauner, Ranja Zayed, Ahmed Zeed, Ludi Zhao, Magda Ziadeh

Postal votes: Nil Apologies: Nil

## **Opening**

- The National President, Erika Gonzalez, opened the meeting, acknowledging, and paying respect, to the traditional owners and elders. She presided over the meeting from Bunurong land in Melbourne, in the land of the Yulukit-Willam.
- The requirements for a quorum under clause 10.4.1 of the Constitution were met.

### Agenda Item 1: Confirmation of Minutes of 33rd NAGM (via Teleconference, 2020)

- Moved by Amy Wang, seconded by Despina Amanatidou.
- <u>Carried</u> unanimously by Zoom poll.

# Agenda Item 2: Presentation of the National President's Report

- Moved by Catherine Pfammatter, seconded by Dave Deck, that the National President's report be accepted.
- Carried unanimously by Zoom poll.

#### Agenda Item 3: Presentation of statement of accounts for FY 2020-21

- Moved by Sydney Ye, seconded by Amy Wang, that the National Treasurer's report be accepted.
- <u>Carried</u> unanimously by Zoom poll.

# Agenda Item 4: Presentation of the National Secretary's report for the year 2020-21

- Moved by Catherine Pfammatter, seconded by Sandra Hale, that the National Secretary's report be accepted.
- Carried unanimously by Zoom poll.

# **Agenda Item 5:** Tabling of reports by honorarium positions

- Moved by Miranda Lai, seconded by Dave Deck.
- <u>Carried</u> unanimously by Zoom poll.

## Agenda Item 6: Tabling of state branch reports

- Moved by Despina Amanatidou, seconded by Sydney Ye, that the state branch reports be accepted.
- <u>Carried</u> unanimously by Zoom poll.

# <u>Agenda Item 7</u>: Election of national office bearers and declaration of non-contested positions on the National Council.

- New and ongoing branch delegates (elected / appointed at prior branch AGMs):
  - + Queensland: Carina Mackenzie
  - + New South Wales: Shiyi (Sydney) Ye [no change]
  - + ACT: Vacant [due to Vesna Cvjeticanin nominated for VP Comms &PR, see below]
  - + Victoria: Véronique Bergeron
  - + Tasmania: Miriam (Shung Lai) Chiu
  - + South Australia: Joe van Dalen [no change]
  - + Western Australia: Catherine Pfammatter [no change]
- National Executive. Six valid nominations had been received, as follows:
  - Erika Gonzalez continues as National President,
  - Despina Amanatidou continues as Vice-President (Events and Professional Development),
  - + Vesna Cvjeticanin is elected as Vice President (Communications and Public Relations),
  - + Saeed Khorsravi is elected in the new role of Vice-President (Ethics and Professional Practice)
  - + Han Xu continues as National Treasurer,
  - Miranda Lai continues as National Secretary.

- There being one nomination for each vacant position, the nominated members were declared duly elected.
- Sandra Hale continues as Immediate Past President, ex officio.

# Agenda Item 8: Date and venue for 35th AUSIT National AGM

• The 35th AUSIT National AGM does not yet have a location or date, due to the uncertainty of the current COVID and border closures. They will be announced in due course.

The I	Presid	ent c	declar	ed the	meeting	closed	at	12:20	pm.

I certify that the above is a true and correct record of decisions at the 34th Annual General Meeting of AUSIT.

Miranda Lai

Miranda Lai National Secretary